[PATCH 0/2] tests: migration-test: Fix agressive test skip, add dirty ring test

Peter Xu posted 2 patches 2 days, 22 hours ago
Patches applied successfully (tree, apply log)
git fetch https://github.com/patchew-project/next-importer-push tags/patchew/20210610005239.265588-1-peterx@redhat.com
Maintainers: Laurent Vivier <lvivier@redhat.com>, Thomas Huth <thuth@redhat.com>, Juan Quintela <quintela@redhat.com>, "Dr. David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>, Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
tests/qtest/migration-test.c | 62 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++------
1 file changed, 53 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

[PATCH 0/2] tests: migration-test: Fix agressive test skip, add dirty ring test

Posted by Peter Xu 2 days, 22 hours ago
Based-on: <20210609014355.217110-1-peterx@redhat.com>

Patch 1 is a fix for migration test not really running on new kernels.  The
problem is uffd check now will constantly fail after upstream commit
37cd0575b8510159 - that means any host kernel newer than 5.11.

Patch 1 makes it slightly better by only skipping the two postcopy tests that
needs uffd on these kernels.  When we want to run the full test, we can do:

  $ sudo QTEST_QEMU_BINARY=./qemu-system-x86_64 ./tests/qtest/migration-test

Then the uffd check will pass, and postcopy tests will be run.

Patch 2 of this series adds the dirty ring test that just got merged into qemu.
It needs the other patch "[PATCH] KVM: Fix dirty ring mmap incorrect size due
to renaming accident", and that's majorly why we need the "Based-on" tag.

Not sure what's the easiest way for the series as it'll depend on the other kvm
patch.  Perhaps if I can try to get ack from Dave so Paolo could queue it too
along with the kvm fix (for either the whole series or patch 2 only)?  I'll
leave that to maintainers to decide..

Please review, thanks.

Peter Xu (2):
  tests: migration-test: Still run the rest even if uffd missing
  tests: migration-test: Add dirty ring test

 tests/qtest/migration-test.c | 62 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++------
 1 file changed, 53 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

-- 
2.31.1